PDA

View Full Version : S1 rallye interior loom help.


Pugdjw
07-05-2018, 09:13 PM
Looking for a definitive answer. I've used the search function and can't seem to find what I'm looking for.

Does the s1 rallye share it's interior loom with any other model or is it specific to the rallye ?

I've got a black rallye that has been stood a while and it seems to have developed an immobilser/earth fault. Both the red and green light the on the key pad stay on and it won't let me enter the code. The engine doesn't turn over the key pad just buzzes when you turn the key.

MHR1294
08-05-2018, 06:20 PM
The starter motor should ALWAYS turn over. it's a separate system to the immobiliser.

Check your ignition switch?

The interior loom on my S1 Rallye looks the same as a normal S1 I stripped once.

Pugdjw
09-05-2018, 02:00 AM
It could well be a dodgy ignition, when I put the car into storage the problem was very intermittent. When I get a spare minute I'm going to pull the dash regardless I think to see what's going on. If all s1 interior looms are the same I think it might be worth while trying to source one if the ignition isn't at fault.

MHR1294
10-05-2018, 06:15 PM
Make sure you label EVERYTHING and make sure all the screws are out of the heater matrix before pulling on the dash.

S1 dashboards are a nightmare.

I'm sure all the S1 looms are the same, I know in later S2 looms they are "stripped to spec". S1's always have spare plugs floating about for options.

Pugdjw
14-05-2018, 09:35 PM
Spent a little time in the garage at the weekend. Fully charged the battery, the car turns over but still has the keypad fault. It doesn't let you enter the code and the red light stays on. Think I'm best off getting the Ecu sent away and the immobiliser removed.

MHR1294
16-05-2018, 07:37 PM
Spent a little time in the garage at the weekend. Fully charged the battery, the car turns over but still has the keypad fault. It doesn't let you enter the code and the red light stays on. Think I'm best off getting the Ecu sent away and the immobiliser removed.

Well that's progress if it's turning over! Get it unlocked and hopefully that'll save you a load of work! :D