106 Rallye Register Forum

106 Rallye Register Forum (http://www.106rallyeforum.com/forum2008/forum.php)
-   Problems, Servicing & Repairs (http://www.106rallyeforum.com/forum2008/forumdisplay.php?f=77)
-   -   Rallye S1 with S2 8v engine, won't start (http://www.106rallyeforum.com/forum2008/showthread.php?t=76176)

goodbytes 17-09-2010 08:29 AM

Rallye S1 with S2 8v engine, won't start
 
Hi,

What I've basically done, is fully rebuilt a Rallye S2 1.6 8v engine and put it in my Rallye S1. I used the ECU and engine loom+sensors and connected it to the rest of the loom using the large round multi plug in the engine compartment.

To my recollection this should work fine?

The engine turns but won't start.
When turning the key to "on", I hear the double relay clicking, but the fuel pump doesn't start. There are no spark either. So ignition and fuel pump isn't working.

Could this be due to a faulty double relay? or do I need to do some re-wiring to connect the two looms together?

Thanks.

Best regards,
Kenneth

bobdylan_55 17-09-2010 09:12 AM

or immobiliser?

goodbytes 17-09-2010 10:34 AM

Yes. I just called Peugeot, and they confirmed that the starter would turn and fuel/ignition was cut off, if the immobilizer was active.

I tried plugging in the old 1.3 ECU, which was born without immobilizer, but it acts the same. However would it even run with an s1 ecu on an s2 loom??

bobdylan_55 17-09-2010 01:12 PM

iirc the s1 and s2 rallye looms are the same and the ecu are both magneti. Sounds like bad wiring to me. Have you checked all your earths and such? it must be a main earth or live if the fuel pump is not turning on and no spark is being made.

goodbytes 17-09-2010 02:41 PM

The main earth on gearbox is fine. I will have the rest checked tonight. I suppose it could be an earth or live from within the round connector from the engine to main loom.

goodbytes 18-09-2010 09:28 AM

There are no corroded wires. Everything just plugged in nice and clean.

Can anybody confirm that the rallye s2 engine loom will fit straight on a s1 rallye main loom?
I've found some wiring diagrams on here:

s1 (tu2j2 mfz)
http://peugeot.mainspot.net/wiring106/index.shtml

http://peugeot.mainspot.net/wiring106/tu2j2z-3.gif


s2 (tu5j2 nfw)
http://peugeot.mainspot.net/wiring106/tu5j2.shtml

http://peugeot.mainspot.net/wiring106/nfw-3.gif


The round plug is in the middle of both the wiring diagrams. There seems to be slight difference on the number of pins, and how the fuel pump / inertia switch is connected.

I've spend all night trying to read those diagrams, and to be honest I'm still quite lost.

Has anyone tried this conversion before and can give me some tips? I would really appreciate it.

Thanks,

Best regards,
Kenneth

goodbytes 18-09-2010 11:26 PM

The wiring is all wrong. Not a direct plug in as I first thought.
I'm working on a rewire, with help from the 16v conversion threads.

goodbytes 19-09-2010 05:49 PM

The wiring is done. But the ECU is locked. Goddamnit.

goodbytes 22-09-2010 11:03 PM

Tried running it with my s1 ecu, but with modified s2 loom, sensors and fuel regulator. It wouldn't idle, but was otherwise somehow OK, did have a few misses sometimes.

Perhaps, I should be swapping out the sensors, inlet and throttlebody with the old S1 items, would that let me run the s1 ecu just fine (e.g. compensate for the larger displacement of the nfw engine)? the MOT is up soon, so I would need a solution that could pass every time.
Otherwise, I would need to try and unlock the s2 ecu myself, and run s2 inlet+sensors and wiring.

I have been doing a fair bit of searching on the forum, but couldn't find a definitive answer.

micheldeman 16-03-2016 09:11 AM

Old thread, but just keep the old S1 loom and ecu, place the s2 ecu chip into the S1 ecu. Keep the s1 inlet and it should start straight away.


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:20 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.