home news shop history forum membership galleries regions calendar contact
   

Go Back   106 Rallye Register Forum > TUNING, MODIFICATIONS & UPGRADES > Engine, Exhaust & Gearbox

Engine, Exhaust & Gearbox ECU chips, decats, cam kits,

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-03-2007, 08:56 PM   #1
Benji
WHOOPS! MEMBERSHIP JUST EXPIRED
 
Benji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Leeds
Posts: 2,187
User Gallery
Gauging interest for 8v Bike Body Inlets

I have all the kit to make about 5 Inlets for early spacing 8v engines which want motorbike bodies fitting.

All TIG welded.

These are made from 8mm mild steel flanges with T316 stainless for the rest of the inlet. Im looking to sell them for around 99 + P&P.

I have setup to make inlets for GSXR600's, CBR600TB's/Carbs & BMW K100's.

They don't need the top engine mount modifiying apart from taking a little off the closest stud. I can make them for either scuttle cutting or not.

Just seeing if there is any interest in putting time into making some up.

Ben





Benji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2007, 09:01 PM   #2
J Butler
WHOOPS! MEMBERSHIP JUST EXPIRED
 
J Butler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Folkestone, Kent
Posts: 3,070
User Gallery Car Blog
Why are they so long?
__________________
[CENTER][IMG]http://i11.photobucket.com/albums/a162/jaybutler/sig010707copia.jpg[/IMG]
[CENTER][B][COLOR="RED"]CHERRY RED S1 1.6 8V[/COLOR][/B]
[/center]
[I][B]JayButler88[/B]@hotmail.com :)[/I][/CENTER]
J Butler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2007, 09:09 PM   #3
Benji
WHOOPS! MEMBERSHIP JUST EXPIRED
 
Benji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Leeds
Posts: 2,187
User Gallery
longer inlet tract = better torque.

Can make them end as soon as they leave the head if you want.
Benji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2007, 09:23 PM   #4
bammargera
EXPIRED MEMBER :-(
 
bammargera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Edinburgh
Posts: 1,091
User Gallery
I think i'd be interested in a set in about a months time when my new student loan comes in, will be for CBR600 throttle bodies and for an S1 rallye engine probably, also would be cutting the scuttle
bammargera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2007, 08:25 AM   #5
tree
WHOOPS! MEMBERSHIP JUST EXPIRED
 
tree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Isle of Man
Posts: 642
User Gallery
Definately interested dude. ASAP if possible for gsxr/ cbr 600 bodies. 100 is a damn good price..saves me the hassle of measuring up and messing around.
tree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2007, 05:25 PM   #6
Ben Tearle
WHOOPS! MEMBERSHIP JUST EXPIRED
 
Ben Tearle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Nantwich
Posts: 1,160
User Gallery
Just wondering how much the flanges cost to be made? Have you got any to sell on there own?
Ben Tearle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2007, 06:13 PM   #7
Benji
WHOOPS! MEMBERSHIP JUST EXPIRED
 
Benji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Leeds
Posts: 2,187
User Gallery
I have yes, i'll sell them for 20+p&p and i'm making very little on that.
Benji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2007, 08:49 AM   #8
braderz
EXPIRED MEMBER :-(
 
braderz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: wiltshire
Posts: 365
User Gallery
i'll take a manifold mate.

new project on the way in the next month and this is just what i need.

let me know
braderz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2007, 08:56 PM   #9
The_Notorious_C_A_T
WHOOPS! MEMBERSHIP JUST EXPIRED
 
The_Notorious_C_A_T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Aberdeen
Posts: 325
User Gallery
Any chance of you knocking up some 16v ones as well?

And what about the brake servo pipe?
The_Notorious_C_A_T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2007, 09:12 PM   #10
semtex
106 RR MEMBER & MODERATOR & BABYMAKER
 
semtex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: shropshire
Posts: 9,548
User Gallery
a bit but ben when you increase the trumpet length with silcone hose is that ok for the smooth flow into the bodies ? just im after a cheap way to extend my trumpet length and cant be arsed waiting for my mate to cut and weld them as he is flat out with his grass track car
__________________
[IMG]http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y269/semtex106/help.jpg[/IMG]
semtex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2007, 09:51 PM   #11
Cyb3r
106 RALLYE REGISTER MEMBER

 
Cyb3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Holsworthy, Devon
Posts: 10,683
User Gallery Car Blog
i could be interested lmk when its going ahead
__________________
The Car In Front's A 16v.
Cyb3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2007, 10:20 PM   #12
Benji
WHOOPS! MEMBERSHIP JUST EXPIRED
 
Benji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Leeds
Posts: 2,187
User Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by semtex106 View Post
a bit but ben when you increase the trumpet length with silcone hose is that ok for the smooth flow into the bodies ? just im after a cheap way to extend my trumpet length and cant be arsed waiting for my mate to cut and weld them as he is flat out with his grass track car
Your never going to get away from having a slight step, but i can't see it being a massive detrment to the air flow.
Benji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2007, 11:49 PM   #13
mr_roll
EXPIRED MEMBER :-(
 
mr_roll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 1,036
User Gallery
I've got a few questions, added you to msn though

Main questions:
How will this effect fuel economy?
I don't really want to mod anything else under the bonnet though, how much more torque are we talking here?
Could I come down to Leeds and have you fit them (as I would really have squat all idea what I'm doing)
mr_roll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2007, 05:39 PM   #14
Benji
WHOOPS! MEMBERSHIP JUST EXPIRED
 
Benji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Leeds
Posts: 2,187
User Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_roll View Post
I've got a few questions, added you to msn though

Main questions:
How will this effect fuel economy?
I don't really want to mod anything else under the bonnet though, how much more torque are we talking here?
Could I come down to Leeds and have you fit them (as I would really have squat all idea what I'm doing)
Fuel economy - all depends on mapping and how you drive the car.

Std 1.6 engine of mine made 130odd ft/lb's of torque with a 4-1 manny. (mark has the graph).

Im not really wanting to provide a fitting service, its more of a DIY setup. I don't get much time from not being at work anyway and with the championship on route its going to be even less time. Bear in mind the car will NEED a remap/after market ECU when you fit throttle bodies as its a totally different animal. It'll run on the STD ecu map but i really don't recommend driving it.
Benji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2007, 05:45 PM   #15
matt_e
EXPIRED MEMBER :-(
 
matt_e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: east midlands
Posts: 2,736
User Gallery
i will have some too! can always save them for a rainly day next winter ? lol

count me in om me all details i need to know

matt
matt_e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2007, 07:14 PM   #16
manc
WHOOPS! MEMBERSHIP JUST EXPIRED
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Derby
Posts: 198
User Gallery
Quote:
early spacing 8v engines
I have a later 8v spaced inlet so I suppose this t/b is out of the question?

ManC
manc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2007, 07:17 PM   #17
Paul R
WHOOPS! MEMBERSHIP JUST EXPIRED
 
Paul R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Barnsley
Posts: 4,689
User Gallery
they look rather bloody good. im impressed!

It makes me want bodies all the more but i cant due to the bloody rulebook for roadrallying.
Paul R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2007, 07:32 PM   #18
Benji
WHOOPS! MEMBERSHIP JUST EXPIRED
 
Benji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Leeds
Posts: 2,187
User Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by manc View Post
I have a later 8v spaced inlet so I suppose this t/b is out of the question?

ManC
It is i'm afraid. Not had the need to get flanges cut for the newer spacings, yet.
Benji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2007, 07:59 PM   #19
mr_roll
EXPIRED MEMBER :-(
 
mr_roll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 1,036
User Gallery
I am still interested... however... how do I tell if I have an early or later spaced inlet? My car is 95 on an N plate.
mr_roll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2007, 08:07 PM   #20
braderz
EXPIRED MEMBER :-(
 
braderz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: wiltshire
Posts: 365
User Gallery
if your cars got a black rocker cover (early head) then it'll be fine, if its got a silver rocker cover (later head, different port spacing) then its a no no
braderz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2007, 07:19 PM   #21
mr_roll
EXPIRED MEMBER :-(
 
mr_roll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 1,036
User Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by braderz View Post
if your cars got a black rocker cover (early head) then it'll be fine, if its got a silver rocker cover (later head, different port spacing) then its a no no
Ahh thank you, mines got a black rocker cover
mr_roll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2007, 11:42 AM   #22
Alex Astall
EXPIRED MEMBER :-(
 
Alex Astall's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Crewe, Cheshire
Posts: 629
User Gallery
any chance you'll be making any 16v versions?
Alex Astall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2007, 08:59 PM   #23
Benji
WHOOPS! MEMBERSHIP JUST EXPIRED
 
Benji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Leeds
Posts: 2,187
User Gallery
I might do 16v Versions soon. Depends on interest.

Just made a manifold for Tree, so i'm open to build them for people.







That was for GSXR's. Just needs the Servo Pipe welding on.

They might take a little time to get them built (need some more bits), but they'll get done!

Ben
Benji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-03-2007, 08:59 PM   #24
braderz
EXPIRED MEMBER :-(
 
braderz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: wiltshire
Posts: 365
User Gallery
are the 8v inlets still goin ahead mate?
braderz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-2007, 06:21 PM   #25
Benji
WHOOPS! MEMBERSHIP JUST EXPIRED
 
Benji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Leeds
Posts: 2,187
User Gallery
certainly are.

Tree has just recieved his and is vey pleased, so im open for business.
Benji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 11:48 PM   #26
Shadowed_fury
SOON TO BE FREELOADER - PLEASE JOIN UP NOW!
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Telford
Posts: 77
User Gallery
Sorry to dig this up, but wow what a small world, i've just sold the bodies in the top pic!
Exact same set!
Shadowed_fury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2007, 01:18 AM   #27
J Butler
WHOOPS! MEMBERSHIP JUST EXPIRED
 
J Butler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Folkestone, Kent
Posts: 3,070
User Gallery Car Blog
I take it this is the same deal going on in the for sale section.

Does anyone know the different sizes GSXRs come in. I would like 42mm preferably or failing that, 40mm. Anyone know where to look?
__________________
[CENTER][IMG]http://i11.photobucket.com/albums/a162/jaybutler/sig010707copia.jpg[/IMG]
[CENTER][B][COLOR="RED"]CHERRY RED S1 1.6 8V[/COLOR][/B]
[/center]
[I][B]JayButler88[/B]@hotmail.com :)[/I][/CENTER]
J Butler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2007, 07:34 AM   #28
Benji
WHOOPS! MEMBERSHIP JUST EXPIRED
 
Benji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Leeds
Posts: 2,187
User Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadowed_fury View Post
Sorry to dig this up, but wow what a small world, i've just sold the bodies in the top pic!
Exact same set!
I was watching them on ebay when they were @ 62
You put em on twice? and also tried to sell them on here lol.
Benji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2007, 12:16 PM   #29
Shadowed_fury
SOON TO BE FREELOADER - PLEASE JOIN UP NOW!
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Telford
Posts: 77
User Gallery
Well, I got them for 37 off ebay, planned on using them.
Ditched the idea due to funds, and then sold them again, after having to relist them!

Nice though!
Shadowed_fury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2007, 01:28 PM   #30
matt_e
EXPIRED MEMBER :-(
 
matt_e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: east midlands
Posts: 2,736
User Gallery
benji how much is mega squirt? and who could fit it?
matt_e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2007, 01:32 PM   #31
PhillipM
FREELOADER! 85+ posts still not joined :-(
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Brewery01
Posts: 100
User Gallery
I'd like a flange if you could do me one please
PhillipM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2007, 04:49 PM   #32
Benji
WHOOPS! MEMBERSHIP JUST EXPIRED
 
Benji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Leeds
Posts: 2,187
User Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by matt_e View Post
benji how much is mega squirt? and who could fit it?
Depends which model, V3 MS1 is usualy about 140 which will control 2 sets of injectors & 6 coil packs. As for fitting, i could do the work, or you could have a bash? Its just making sure your connections are properly done.

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhillipM View Post
I'd like a flange if you could do me one please
Certainly can, 25 inc P&P?
Benji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2007, 05:30 PM   #33
PhillipM
FREELOADER! 85+ posts still not joined :-(
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Brewery01
Posts: 100
User Gallery
Yep, I'll take one at that please, how'd you like paying?
PhillipM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-05-2007, 11:21 AM   #34
PhillipM
FREELOADER! 85+ posts still not joined :-(
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Brewery01
Posts: 100
User Gallery
Recieved the flange today, cheers.

Now I just need source a Rallye head so I can fit it to this xs engine
PhillipM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-05-2007, 12:21 PM   #35
matt_e
EXPIRED MEMBER :-(
 
matt_e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: east midlands
Posts: 2,736
User Gallery
very interested in tbs now!!!! i can afford the mega squirt so whats needed the inlet mani and the tbs and injector rail and mega squirt and a remap?

benji if you could provide me with everything needed and a price for making it work for me i would be very interested!!!!!

i am excited now lol

is it possible to still run a turbo with tbs??
matt_e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-05-2007, 06:55 PM   #36
Benji
WHOOPS! MEMBERSHIP JUST EXPIRED
 
Benji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Leeds
Posts: 2,187
User Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by matt_e View Post
very interested in tbs now!!!! i can afford the mega squirt so whats needed the inlet mani and the tbs and injector rail and mega squirt and a remap?

benji if you could provide me with everything needed and a price for making it work for me i would be very interested!!!!!

i am excited now lol

is it possible to still run a turbo with tbs??
All thats needed is....

Inlet Manny
Modified loom so MS plugs in!
Set of TB's
Remap

Depending on what power your after, i'd stick to using the standard injector placment in the 8v head, as there are LOADS available in the standard case size which will fit the rail.

You can run a turbo with TB's but its more hastle than its worth, a std plenum will suffice.

I've been working on a jig for the s1 engine loom to MS, where the MS lives in the glove box.

I'll sort a price out...
Benji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2007, 11:39 PM   #37
matt_e
EXPIRED MEMBER :-(
 
matt_e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: east midlands
Posts: 2,736
User Gallery
tb's

pm'd
matt_e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-2007, 07:16 AM   #38
manc
WHOOPS! MEMBERSHIP JUST EXPIRED
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Derby
Posts: 198
User Gallery
After having a peer at my VTR I see my inlet is shaped like this

oo-oo

Does this mean I am able to go for your bike body inlet manifold? Also can throttle bodies be mapped in with a Dastek which I currently have fitted?

Thx.
manc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-2007, 04:08 PM   #39
Benji
WHOOPS! MEMBERSHIP JUST EXPIRED
 
Benji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Leeds
Posts: 2,187
User Gallery
Yes you can fit one. Personally if you still want to retain the orginal ECU, i'd sell the dastek and get the std one mapped.
Benji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2007, 01:10 PM   #40
saxo001navy
REGISTERED FORUM USER - NON MEMBER
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Taiwan
Posts: 13
User Gallery
what size of stack do you use

Hi: I noticed that u use dcoe stack, is it dcoe40 or 45?
thanks
saxo001navy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2007, 09:39 PM   #41
Benji
WHOOPS! MEMBERSHIP JUST EXPIRED
 
Benji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Leeds
Posts: 2,187
User Gallery
45's which is really not ideal way of doing it, too much of a step.

My current setup no longer has them on however...
Benji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2007, 12:13 AM   #42
saxo001navy
REGISTERED FORUM USER - NON MEMBER
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Taiwan
Posts: 13
User Gallery
what stacks do you suggest

So before you use DCOE45 stack?
If I remeber correctly, the ID of DCOE45 stack was 44-45mm, and GSXR 600 TB at trumpet side was 40-41mm, am I right?


what stacks do you suggest for best c/p?

jenvey or dth have good air horn but too expensive for a bike tb conversion project IMO

THANKS, BENJI
saxo001navy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.