home news shop history forum membership galleries regions calendar contact
   

Go Back   106 Rallye Register Forum > TUNING, MODIFICATIONS & UPGRADES > Engine, Exhaust & Gearbox

Engine, Exhaust & Gearbox ECU chips, decats, cam kits,

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-06-2018, 07:22 AM   #1
micheldeman
106 RALLYE REGISTER MEMBER
 
micheldeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 293
User Gallery
Fitting a 1.3 rallye engine and gearbox into a 1.4 AX GT mono point injection.

I am thinking of fitting my spare 1.3 rallye engine with 1.3 inlet and gearbox into my AX 1.4 GT, which has only 75HP with mono point injection.
Apart from wiring, this wouldn't be a difficult modification I think.

And with 100HP and only 720KG's even faster and more fun than a S1 rallye

I need to use the 1.3 ECU and use the 1.3 wiring loom obviously which I have both spare too. Just not sure about other wiring like to dash board meters etc. Has anyone done this swap before?

Are the engine and gearbox mounting points the same?

I suggest I would swap to the wishbones and ARB from a 106 GTI or rallye and upgrade the front dampers and springs and dampers at the rear at the same time?

thanks

some pics of the car that I just bought.




Last edited by micheldeman; 04-06-2018 at 07:22 AM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
micheldeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2018, 04:58 PM   #2
MHR1294
106 RALLYE REGISTER MEMBER
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Perth
Posts: 174
User Gallery
Ohh a mk2 AX.

Well in that case it's exactly the same as an S1 106, all mounting points identical for engine and suspension if memory serves me correctly.

I think even the dashboard wiring is the same last time I looked at a diagram. So an early S1 106 dash will work directly with the AX wiring loom, as will the 1.3 engine loom.
MHR1294 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2018, 05:10 PM   #3
micheldeman
106 RALLYE REGISTER MEMBER
 
micheldeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 293
User Gallery
Thanks for your reply. It's a mk1 AX, year of manufacturing is 1989. It has the orange blinking lights at the front.

It doesn't have the round connector like my 106 s1 rallye where the engine loom goes into the wing.

So, probably not just plug and play?
micheldeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2018, 05:36 PM   #4
MHR1294
106 RALLYE REGISTER MEMBER
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Perth
Posts: 174
User Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by micheldeman View Post
Thanks for your reply. It's a mk1 AX, year of manufacturing is 1989. It has the orange blinking lights at the front.

It doesn't have the round connector like my 106 s1 rallye where the engine loom goes into the wing.

So, probably not just plug and play?
My mistake I never even noticed the orange indicators etc! That's what I get for not reading your post properly!

The wiring at the dashboard is still the same but you'll need to do some loom splicing at the chassis plug.

Last edited by MHR1294; 06-06-2018 at 05:37 PM. Reason: read too fast again, i read that it's monopoint haha
MHR1294 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2018, 06:44 AM   #5
micheldeman
106 RALLYE REGISTER MEMBER
 
micheldeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 293
User Gallery
The s1 rallye has a combined oil level and temperature meter on the dash. On the dash of the AX, there's an oil level indicator (light only), but not an oil temperature meter. That's something to remark.




ECU and plug are different to the ECU of a s1 rallye.



However, the AX GTI has multipoint injection and a coil pack ignition and therefore more like an S1 rallye. Checking some pics on the internet shows that the ECU plug of a AX gti looks the same, although it's a bosch ECU and not a magneti marelli, but pin wise maybe compatible, or at least adaptable to a S1 ECU plug. It may be worth sourcing a GTI wiring loom and adapt that one to the S1 1.3 engine and S1 inlet.

Here's a link to youtube of someone who has fitted a s1 rallye inlet on a AX GTI.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UMZrbNd5H1s

Still need to check the dash and meters as you can see on that video that the GTI dash layout differs from the AX GT one that I have.
micheldeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2018, 08:26 AM   #6
welshpug
106 RALLYE REGISTER MEMBER

 
welshpug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: cwmcarn
Posts: 4,910
User Gallery
youll need to splice in tge plug from the AX onto the rallye loom, pretty straightforward really, buzz back from each plug on the loom to each wire in the main loom olug.

specifically to make it run you need very few wires connected, one is main live to double relay, 2nd is switched ignition live, starter solenoid wire, fuel pump, and earth the loom.

wiring diagrams will help but not absolutely necessary.
welshpug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2018, 10:03 AM   #7
micheldeman
106 RALLYE REGISTER MEMBER
 
micheldeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 293
User Gallery
Ok, thanks,

so if I understand you correctly: install the rallye ECU and rallye loom as is but keep and splice only those wires of the AX ECU plug onto the rallye ECU plug for the functions like those you mentioned above?

I have a 106 haynes manual and the AX haynes manual is on the way. So will have a closer look at the diagrams and see for which wires and functions I need to splice the AX loom/ecu plug onto the rallye loom/ecu plug.

Cool

Last edited by micheldeman; 07-06-2018 at 10:03 AM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
micheldeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2018, 09:52 AM   #8
micheldeman
106 RALLYE REGISTER MEMBER
 
micheldeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 293
User Gallery
What TU engine is 1FSON?
This is what the aluminium plate says that's riveted to the engine block.

I found it, there was another small plate just in front of the other one covered in oil and dirt which says KDZ.

Last edited by micheldeman; 12-06-2018 at 05:31 PM.
micheldeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2018, 10:30 AM   #9
welshpug
106 RALLYE REGISTER MEMBER

 
welshpug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: cwmcarn
Posts: 4,910
User Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by micheldeman View Post
Ok, thanks,

so if I understand you correctly: install the rallye ECU and rallye loom as is but keep and splice only those wires of the AX ECU plug onto the rallye ECU plug for the functions like those you mentioned above?
that is the minimum to get it running, the rest is auxillary, i.e gauges/warning lights
welshpug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2018, 05:20 PM   #10
micheldeman
106 RALLYE REGISTER MEMBER
 
micheldeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 293
User Gallery
Does anyone know a proven setup for the suspension of my AX GT?
I am thinking of lowering all round with Bilstein dampers, but what front lowering springs and torsion- and anti-roll bar thickness are good. I am also thinking of baker top mounts to set some camber and caster.
Are B6 good enough?

Last edited by micheldeman; 28-07-2018 at 11:03 AM.
micheldeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.