home news shop history forum membership galleries regions calendar contact
   

Go Back   106 Rallye Register Forum > GENERAL TOPICS > Problems, Servicing & Repairs

Problems, Servicing & Repairs Information and topics about technical problems, servicing and repairs to the Rallye

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-01-2017, 11:56 AM   #1
jools
106 RALLYE REGISTER MEMBER

 
jools's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Gloucestershire
Posts: 2,036
User Gallery
Citroen Saxo immobiliser issue

Hello,

Looking for a bit of advice. My Wife's Citroen Saxo (1.1 51 plate) has a damaged immobiliser aerial, that sits on the end of the ignition barrel. The end has cracked and I believe the copper wire damaged, long story, but I only touched it honest.

Has any one had any experience in fixing this. Can I just get a new aerial, or do we have to as I suspect replace the ecu, lock set and transponder thingy?

Any help or suggestions would be appreciated.

Many thanks in advance.
jools is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2017, 12:45 PM   #2
welshpug
106 RALLYE REGISTER MEMBER

 
welshpug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: cwmcarn
Posts: 4,904
User Gallery
its just a generic aerial.
welshpug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2017, 01:53 PM   #3
jools
106 RALLYE REGISTER MEMBER

 
jools's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Gloucestershire
Posts: 2,036
User Gallery
ok, thank you, can you replace the aerial? if so any ideas how
jools is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2017, 02:09 PM   #4
LeeThr
REGISTERED FORUM USER - NON MEMBER
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Bangor
Posts: 62
User Gallery
Yes easily replaceable once the cowling around the steering columns removed. I think i've got a spare one lurking in the garage if you need one.
LeeThr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2017, 02:19 PM   #5
welshpug
106 RALLYE REGISTER MEMBER

 
welshpug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: cwmcarn
Posts: 4,904
User Gallery
it just unclips from around the barrel, one plug to the loom.
welshpug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2017, 04:01 PM   #6
jools
106 RALLYE REGISTER MEMBER

 
jools's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Gloucestershire
Posts: 2,036
User Gallery
Ah, so if we can find this part, I am home free and out of the dog house with little expense.
jools is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2017, 05:35 PM   #7
LeeThr
REGISTERED FORUM USER - NON MEMBER
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Bangor
Posts: 62
User Gallery
Pretty much, looks something along the lines of this:


Sit's around the end of the ignition barrel.
LeeThr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2017, 06:18 PM   #8
jools
106 RALLYE REGISTER MEMBER

 
jools's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Gloucestershire
Posts: 2,036
User Gallery
When I said find it I meant find a replacement. I know where the original is - on the kitchen table ; )
I should have one I took off the rallye but I am dammed if I can find it.
jools is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2017, 06:28 PM   #9
LeeThr
REGISTERED FORUM USER - NON MEMBER
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Bangor
Posts: 62
User Gallery
Ahh my bad haha.

Well if your stuck and can't find it let me know and i'll venture out into my garage. There's 3 in there somewhere.... Got a good idea where at least 2 of them are.
LeeThr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-01-2017, 05:36 PM   #10
jools
106 RALLYE REGISTER MEMBER

 
jools's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Gloucestershire
Posts: 2,036
User Gallery
Thanks for the help folk. Went into CitroŽn on Saturday and ordered a new part. According to the work she's it is a straight swap with no mention of reprogramming,so while I was there bought one for £23.00,so hopefully will do the job.
jools is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-01-2017, 02:46 PM   #11
jools
106 RALLYE REGISTER MEMBER

 
jools's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Gloucestershire
Posts: 2,036
User Gallery
Picked up the part today, and fitted with the car - just plug and play with the car working first time. Now need to fix the instrument cluster which sometimes stop working usually at the most inconvenient time - picked up a brand new cluster to fit so see if that works.
jools is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.