home news shop history forum membership galleries regions calendar contact
   

Go Back   106 Rallye Register Forum > GENERAL TOPICS > Problems, Servicing & Repairs

Problems, Servicing & Repairs Information and topics about technical problems, servicing and repairs to the Rallye

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 23-09-2017, 10:13 AM   #1
Keegan
REGISTERED FORUM USER - NON MEMBER
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 6
User Gallery
Unlocked VTS ECU but still won't start?

Looking for any advise on my 2003 Saxo vts, I replaced engine from 2002 saxo VTS and had the ECU unlocked previously as it was fitted to a VTR. No fuel pump and no spark, engine turns over fine and no key light flashing as immobiliser has been removed. Any info would be greatly appretiated.
Keegan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-09-2017, 10:50 AM   #2
welshpug
106 RALLYE REGISTER MEMBER

 
welshpug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: cwmcarn
Posts: 4,910
User Gallery
why did you change the ecu when you changed the engine? would have been fine on its original one.
welshpug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-09-2017, 11:01 AM   #3
Keegan
REGISTERED FORUM USER - NON MEMBER
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 6
User Gallery
My ecu had been unlocked from guy on saxp 4 years ago so thought it would be fine on this.
Keegan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-09-2017, 11:53 AM   #4
welshpug
106 RALLYE REGISTER MEMBER

 
welshpug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: cwmcarn
Posts: 4,910
User Gallery
yes but why change a vts ecu for a vts ecu?
welshpug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-09-2017, 08:11 PM   #5
MHR1294
106 RALLYE REGISTER MEMBER
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Perth
Posts: 174
User Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keegan View Post
Looking for any advise on my 2003 Saxo vts, I replaced engine from 2002 saxo VTS and had the ECU unlocked previously as it was fitted to a VTR. No fuel pump and no spark, engine turns over fine and no key light flashing as immobiliser has been removed. Any info would be greatly appretiated.
Immobiliser state doesn't affect fuel pump priming. the pump ALWAYS primes on ignition.

Either faulty fuel relay/connection under the ECU.

OR there's a 3rd wire on the starter motor, this is where the ECU gets its power feed from. If you've not connected that up properly the ECU won't even be "on".

Quote:
Originally Posted by welshpug View Post
yes but why change a vts ecu for a vts ecu?
Also this ^^ why did you change the ECU?

Last edited by MHR1294; 24-09-2017 at 08:11 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
MHR1294 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-09-2017, 11:40 PM   #6
Keegan
REGISTERED FORUM USER - NON MEMBER
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 6
User Gallery
Only seen 2 wires for the starter motor? One big eyelet for power to starter from positive and one small eyelet for signal from ignition I am assuming?. Only reason I changed ECU was because I was swapping a VTS engine and loom into another VTS and my ECU had been unlocked before so thought I would use that one. I am unable to read ECU with diagnostic machine and also no fuel pump priming on ignition. Thanks everyone for the helpfull answers.
Keegan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2017, 09:04 AM   #7
welshpug
106 RALLYE REGISTER MEMBER

 
welshpug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: cwmcarn
Posts: 4,910
User Gallery
put the original ecu back in, there was no need at all to swap the ecu or the loom.
welshpug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2017, 08:44 PM   #8
MHR1294
106 RALLYE REGISTER MEMBER
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Perth
Posts: 174
User Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keegan View Post
Only seen 2 wires for the starter motor? One big eyelet for power to starter from positive and one small eyelet for signal from ignition I am assuming?. Only reason I changed ECU was because I was swapping a VTS engine and loom into another VTS and my ECU had been unlocked before so thought I would use that one. I am unable to read ECU with diagnostic machine and also no fuel pump priming on ignition. Thanks everyone for the helpfull answers.
No there's 3. Feed for starter, signal from ignition barrel and the 3rd is power to the engine loom.

Also a SAXO engine loom won't work with a 106 interior loom without moving some pins.

Quote:
Originally Posted by welshpug View Post
put the original ecu back in, there was no need at all to swap the ecu or the loom.
I agree, put the ECU and loom back to what it was. you know that was working?
MHR1294 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2017, 09:52 PM   #9
Keegan
REGISTERED FORUM USER - NON MEMBER
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 6
User Gallery
Late reply, Got it running after 4 days of head scratching, turns out there was a broken wire at the starter motor (3rd wire) therefore it was not powering the immobiliser/fuel pump relay under the ECU. Thanks for everyones help!
Keegan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-2017, 09:25 PM   #10
MHR1294
106 RALLYE REGISTER MEMBER
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Perth
Posts: 174
User Gallery
Braw!
MHR1294 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.