home news shop history forum membership galleries regions calendar contact
   

Go Back   106 Rallye Register Forum > TUNING, MODIFICATIONS & UPGRADES > Engine, Exhaust & Gearbox

Engine, Exhaust & Gearbox ECU chips, decats, cam kits,

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-09-2004, 09:21 PM   #1
Martin P
EXPIRED MEMBER :-(
 
Martin P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bordon
Posts: 85
User Gallery
16valve convertion

Does anyone know anywhere that I can get my hands on a 16v engine, gearbox, loom and ecu and how much I should expect to pay?
Cheers!
Martin P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2004, 09:21 PM   #2
Martin P
EXPIRED MEMBER :-(
 
Martin P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bordon
Posts: 85
User Gallery
16valve convertion

Does anyone know anywhere that I can get my hands on a 16v engine, gearbox, loom and ecu and how much I should expect to pay?
Cheers!
Martin P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2004, 09:27 PM   #3
rallye_matt
EXPIRED MEMBER :-(
 
rallye_matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bath
Posts: 6,246
User Gallery Car Blog
There are loads of places to get hold of a 16v: ebay, scrap yards etc etc. Just got to look. They can go from anywhere between 150 (my girlfriend bought one to go in her AX for this price. So annoyed ) Right through to over 1k depending on condition. Make sure you get all the bits you require from the same car, as parts can change between years and models ie your vts ecu might not work with your GTI lump! Also get as many details about the car as possible, especially the vin and number plate so that you can get your key programmed and not have to unlock the ecu .
rallye_matt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2004, 09:27 PM   #4
rallye_matt
EXPIRED MEMBER :-(
 
rallye_matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bath
Posts: 6,246
User Gallery Car Blog
There are loads of places to get hold of a 16v: ebay, scrap yards etc etc. Just got to look. They can go from anywhere between 150 (my girlfriend bought one to go in her AX for this price. So annoyed ) Right through to over 1k depending on condition. Make sure you get all the bits you require from the same car, as parts can change between years and models ie your vts ecu might not work with your GTI lump! Also get as many details about the car as possible, especially the vin and number plate so that you can get your key programmed and not have to unlock the ecu .
rallye_matt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2004, 09:35 PM   #5
philgs2
EXPIRED MEMBER :-(
 
philgs2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: preston (lancs)
Posts: 1,870
User Gallery
im thinkin bout gettin a 16v lump and fitting it myself only thing confusing me is the immobiliser what can u do with it?
philgs2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2004, 09:35 PM   #6
philgs2
EXPIRED MEMBER :-(
 
philgs2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: preston (lancs)
Posts: 1,870
User Gallery
im thinkin bout gettin a 16v lump and fitting it myself only thing confusing me is the immobiliser what can u do with it?
philgs2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2004, 11:57 AM   #7
Olly W
EXPIRED MEMBER :-(
 
Olly W's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Scotland
Posts: 338
User Gallery
as long as the dono car had the chip in the key an not the keypad number hting its quite easy - this web site tells you exactly how to do it -http://www.users.totalise.co.uk/~rob...ck/unlock.html
Olly W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2004, 11:57 AM   #8
Olly W
EXPIRED MEMBER :-(
 
Olly W's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Scotland
Posts: 338
User Gallery
as long as the dono car had the chip in the key an not the keypad number hting its quite easy - this web site tells you exactly how to do it -http://www.users.totalise.co.uk/~rob...ck/unlock.html
Olly W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2004, 10:00 PM   #9
Sam_Rallye
EXPIRED MEMBER :-(
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,811
User Gallery
There is no keypad but its a peice of piss to unlock, start the car up with the transponder plugged in, then unplug the transponder while its running and then start it again to check its ok. Then you have an unlocked ecu. The transponder is behind the glovebox on saxo's and up above the pedals on 106's afaik.
Sam_Rallye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2004, 10:08 PM   #10
philgs2
EXPIRED MEMBER :-(
 
philgs2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: preston (lancs)
Posts: 1,870
User Gallery
its easy wen u know how! cheers.
philgs2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2004, 10:09 PM   #11
rallye_matt
EXPIRED MEMBER :-(
 
rallye_matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bath
Posts: 6,246
User Gallery Car Blog
An unlocked ecu means a un-immobilised ecu though. If you want to do it all properly and retain the immobiliser, get the transponder box and do it the way it tells you on the website.
rallye_matt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2004, 10:20 PM   #12
Sam_Rallye
EXPIRED MEMBER :-(
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,811
User Gallery
Suppose it depends how bothered you are........
Sam_Rallye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2004, 04:10 PM   #13
Martin P
EXPIRED MEMBER :-(
 
Martin P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bordon
Posts: 85
User Gallery
Can anyone tell me how easy the 16v lump goes into an S1, any major mods needed. Someone has metion somthing about the Fan, and drivers side engine mount can be problem?
Thanks.
Martin P is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.