home news shop history forum membership galleries regions calendar contact
   

Go Back   106 Rallye Register Forum > TUNING, MODIFICATIONS & UPGRADES > Engine, Exhaust & Gearbox

Engine, Exhaust & Gearbox ECU chips, decats, cam kits,

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-09-2004, 11:07 AM   #1
Rich & Chris
2 HALVES OF A 106 RALLYE REGISTER MEMBER
 
Rich & Chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sussex
Posts: 738
User Gallery
Should i buy this engine?

Ive just been offered a 16v engine, it looks in good nick, 38,000 miles on the clock, but dont come with an ecu. ive been offered it for 350. should i buy it or just leave it?
__________________
[CENTER][SIGPIC][/SIGPIC][/CENTER]
Rich & Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2004, 11:31 AM   #2
Chris S
Unregistered Guest
 
Posts: n/a
User Gallery
is that with a box too.
if it is then if you add on the 200 quid for a tms unlocked one then the price is not to bad ta all
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2004, 11:35 AM   #3
Rich & Chris
2 HALVES OF A 106 RALLYE REGISTER MEMBER
 
Rich & Chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sussex
Posts: 738
User Gallery
Couldnt i just get a pug sport ecu? would the engine be alright in the back of the rallye to get it back to mine?
__________________
[CENTER][SIGPIC][/SIGPIC][/CENTER]
Rich & Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2004, 12:00 PM   #4
106rallye.co.uk
106 RALLYE REGISTER FOUNDER/LEADER

 
106rallye.co.uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 3,809
User Gallery
got to be a bit careful with GTI engines if they dont come with ECU, key, transponder unit or any wiring....

can cause problems with re-installing it

not a bad price, but depends on condition
__________________
Mark
Forum Super Admin
106 Rallye Register Founder/Leader
mark@106rallye.co.uk rrmember@106parts.com

For all 106 Rallye Register membership queries please check the membership page or email us on membership@106rallyeregister.co.uk

20 Years since the launch of the S1 Rallye in 2013....watch this space!
106rallye.co.uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2004, 01:00 PM   #5
steven_c
Unregistered Guest
 
Posts: n/a
User Gallery
you could do with buying it all complete, i paid 100 for my gti engine, but am struggling to find a ecu and wiring and transponder key. will be done soon..
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2004, 08:15 PM   #6
Rich & Chris
2 HALVES OF A 106 RALLYE REGISTER MEMBER
 
Rich & Chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sussex
Posts: 738
User Gallery
do peugeot sell ecu's and wiring looms etc?
__________________
[CENTER][SIGPIC][/SIGPIC][/CENTER]
Rich & Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2004, 08:46 PM   #7
106rallye.co.uk
106 RALLYE REGISTER FOUNDER/LEADER

 
106rallye.co.uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 3,809
User Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Richisbradders
do peugeot sell ecu's and wiring looms etc?
yeah but they are BIG bucks!
__________________
Mark
Forum Super Admin
106 Rallye Register Founder/Leader
mark@106rallye.co.uk rrmember@106parts.com

For all 106 Rallye Register membership queries please check the membership page or email us on membership@106rallyeregister.co.uk

20 Years since the launch of the S1 Rallye in 2013....watch this space!
106rallye.co.uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2004, 08:34 AM   #8
Sam_Rallye
EXPIRED MEMBER :-(
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,811
User Gallery
DON'T get the pugsport ecu, its no use unless you want a crap idle etc.
Sam_Rallye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2004, 04:49 PM   #9
Brad
EXPIRED MEMBER :-(
 
Brad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: the mow,birtley,newcastle
Posts: 326
User Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by steven_c
you could do with buying it all complete, i paid 100 for my gti engine, but am struggling to find a ecu and wiring and transponder key. will be done soon..
just found out from someone from my local pug breakers yard that you can use the ecu n loom from a xantia 2.0 16v. he didn't say which one the 136bhp or the 155 bhp vsx one but either way it might be worth a try.

these days you can get a full car for less than the cost of 106 gti ecu n loom.
find one with shagged suspension n ur sorted.
Brad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2004, 08:19 PM   #10
Sam_Rallye
EXPIRED MEMBER :-(
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,811
User Gallery
I think you are underestimating how easy it will be Thats why there are 2 or 3 in the world that have been done
Sam_Rallye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2004, 08:33 PM   #11
rallye_matt
EXPIRED MEMBER :-(
 
rallye_matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bath
Posts: 6,246
User Gallery Car Blog
You shouldn't really have a problem finding wiring and ECU's. I did a search on the PGAC for breakers, got a number and had a wiring loom delivered the next day for 80. same for the ECU too, should be able to pick one up for about 50. But as adivsed, try to get all bits together. Not that it can't be done any other way, just a hell of a lot easier!!
rallye_matt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2004, 11:27 PM   #12
Rich & Chris
2 HALVES OF A 106 RALLYE REGISTER MEMBER
 
Rich & Chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sussex
Posts: 738
User Gallery
Yeh i think im gonna wait till next year when the rallye retires as my main car before i put the 16v in it. went to go check out the engine, but decided against it as dont want to much hassle with wiring if i can just wait to find a mint complete one.
__________________
[CENTER][SIGPIC][/SIGPIC][/CENTER]
Rich & Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2004, 05:37 PM   #13
Brad
EXPIRED MEMBER :-(
 
Brad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: the mow,birtley,newcastle
Posts: 326
User Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam_Rallye
I think you are underestimating how easy it will be Thats why there are 2 or 3 in the world that have been done
putting people straight again eh sam-rallye
you see sam most people think that coz u have a 106 gti engine that automatically you will need the ecu n loom to go with it.
as for you saying that how easy it will be maybe them 2 or 3 people in the world might have found an easier way to do things than others, but at the same time not telling anyone the solution for it.

you can run all different kinds of engines with different ecu's n looms just gotta know how thats all.
Brad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2004, 06:10 PM   #14
Sam_Rallye
EXPIRED MEMBER :-(
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,811
User Gallery
Sorry i have misunderstood, i assume it was another 'my mates sticking a 2.0 16v in my 106' thread

Yes you are right you can run all sorts of engines on ecu's designed for other lumps thanks to the technology being available to remap the standard ecu's but in the case of this conversion it would be better/easier to get a 106 gti loom/ecu because:
The 106 gti loom is a very easy conversion into a s2 rallye as apposed to the VTS loom.
The 106 gti ecu will have the correct ignition and fuelling maps, you are opening a can of worms by fitting an ecu meant for a different engine, without a remap.
Sam_Rallye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2004, 08:32 AM   #15
Brad
EXPIRED MEMBER :-(
 
Brad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: the mow,birtley,newcastle
Posts: 326
User Gallery
true but anythings possible when you put your mind to it. as for 2.0 16v engine i see your point, its a waste of time cramming a lump that big n heavy into a 106.
Brad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.