home news shop history forum membership galleries regions calendar contact

Go Back   106 Rallye Register Forum > TUNING, MODIFICATIONS & UPGRADES > Engine, Exhaust & Gearbox

Engine, Exhaust & Gearbox ECU chips, decats, cam kits,

Closed Thread

Old 10-09-2004, 08:05 AM   #1
Sebastion
Unregistered Guest

User Gallery
[SOLVED] Leaded Petrol in 106 Rallye 1.6 8v

I have no Cat fitted, is it safe to run leaded?

Old 10-09-2004, 08:38 AM   #2
Patrick F
Unregistered Guest

User Gallery
While I am no mechanic I believe there is more to a car running on leaded or unleaded than just a cat being present. If my memory serves correctly which is never does on a friday then it also has something to do with cylinder compression and also unleaded engines haveing harder valve seals. It will run but I am pretty sure there cold be some damage

Old 10-09-2004, 09:27 AM   #3
asnail99
Unregistered Guest

User Gallery
why run it...its more expensive!

Old 10-09-2004, 09:34 AM   #4
buddrinker
Unregistered Guest

User Gallery
it will run no probs at all.
not alot of point really though other than the fact its ahigher octane rateing.
the vlave seat issue is to do with running leaded cars on unleaded, the lack of lead resulys in valve seat erossion over time. and this is a long time usually not just a few miles.
i know of a mini cooper (a proper one not the crap bmw one) that has being run for the last 5yrs on unleded and its not had a problem at all.

you will actually be better off finding sumwhere that does optimax or super unleaded.
i run my 306 s16 on super unleaded as sainsburys have started re introducing it to there for courts and its only a penny a litre deareer than normal unleaded is.and it is rumoured that it is actaully shell optimax.

another probelmm you will have running leaded in an unleaded car is getting the nozzle in to the filler.
the nozzles are dif sizes and the leaded one wont fit in the hole.

Old 10-09-2004, 09:37 AM   #5
SLIK
Uber God & Equaliser

User Gallery