home news shop history forum membership galleries regions calendar contact
   

Go Back   106 Rallye Register Forum > TUNING, MODIFICATIONS & UPGRADES > Engine, Exhaust & Gearbox

Engine, Exhaust & Gearbox ECU chips, decats, cam kits,

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 15-12-2014, 07:00 PM   #1
MHR1294
106 RALLYE REGISTER MEMBER
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Perth
Posts: 189
User Gallery
Flywheels!

I have recently fitted a flywheel from a 16v (I believe a single plug style with the non symmetrical clutch plate holes) to my 3 plug diesel.

Problem I have is with the tacho, obviously the GTi flywheel has lots of teeth for the crank sensor, the diesel flywheel I removed only has one! So my tacho sits at 6000rpm ALL the time.

So, I fitted clocks from a petrol model (and the sensor from an 8v) and still no change (except it now sits at 7k ) There were physical differences between the diesel crank sensor and the 8v sensor.

Clearly, the signal is processed in the wiring itself and not the clocks.


So basically, what's the difference between the crank sensor on an 8v and a 16v?
MHR1294 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2014, 08:26 PM   #2
welshpug
106 RALLYE REGISTER MEMBER

 
welshpug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: cwmcarn
Posts: 4,910
User Gallery
nothing, the signal on a petrol model comes from the ecu not the crank sensor.

you need a diesel flywheel
welshpug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2014, 09:02 PM   #3
MHR1294
106 RALLYE REGISTER MEMBER
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Perth
Posts: 189
User Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by welshpug View Post
nothing, the signal on a petrol model comes from the ecu not the crank sensor.

you need a diesel flywheel
What if I told you.

my 1.5d has a 3 plug ECU!

Plus, the ECU reads the flywheel sensor. otherwise, how does it know when to pulse the tacho? (and the injectors, ignition etc)

No way I'm going back to the derv flywheel, it's 7Kg!!!

Think (with help from Liam) I've worked out what the problem is.

The sensor, instead of picking up just the notch in the flywheel, is counting ALL 58 of the teeth on the petrol flywheel.

so basically, the input is 58 times higher than it should be!


the hard part, is trying to find a place where I can take a reading for my tacho/ECU that's only one notch per rev.
MHR1294 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2014, 09:31 PM   #4
welshpug
106 RALLYE REGISTER MEMBER

 
welshpug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: cwmcarn
Posts: 4,910
User Gallery
its still a mechanical pump, crank sensor has nothing to do wuth the fuel system.


ignition?!?!
welshpug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2014, 10:24 PM   #5
MHR1294
106 RALLYE REGISTER MEMBER
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Perth
Posts: 189
User Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by welshpug View Post
its still a mechanical pump, crank sensor has nothing to do wuth the fuel system.


ignition?!?!
Yes it does

The engine rpm depends on the amount of advance the ECU applies to the pump timing.

With the crank sensor the way it is, it sits on the fully advanced position 100% so it knocks like a bitch. so I've had to disconnect the electronic advance and leave it static timing.
MHR1294 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-2014, 06:43 AM   #6
monka
106 RALLYE REGISTER MEMBER

 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: southampton
Posts: 1,042
User Gallery
Grind 57 teeth off the gti flywheel and get I balanced then, or find something that can reduce the signal
monka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-2014, 04:53 PM   #7
MHR1294
106 RALLYE REGISTER MEMBER
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Perth
Posts: 189
User Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by monka View Post
Grind 57 teeth off the gti flywheel and get I balanced then, or find something that can reduce the signal
Pffft no, I'll just make the crank sensor fit elsewhere.

IIRC the TU has provision for other types. there's a big 20mm hole on the block itself with a little m6 threaded hole next to it. I'm trying to find out the part number for a sensor that fits in there. It's similar to the XU style. I only found this out recently, because the 1.4 TU is fitted to 405's and I spotted it in a 405 haynes manual.

I know that there's a slot in the back of standard flywheels, that would produce the signal I'm after.

Or, as you've said, I'll just convert the signal.

Picture of said hole


Last edited by MHR1294; 16-12-2014 at 04:53 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
MHR1294 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-2017, 09:13 AM   #8
MHR1294
106 RALLYE REGISTER MEMBER
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Perth
Posts: 189
User Gallery
Aaaand to finish off an old thread, I did manage this and it did work!

Then I turbocharged it, got a bit keen with the boost, oil shear and spun a shell
MHR1294 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.